Eric and I spent a wonderful Saturday evening with some new friends. Part of getting to know each other is always sharing the history of your courtship, your family, and your overall ‘story’.  I was happy that we had plenty of time to talk since our first couple of ‘sharings’ didn’t paint me in a positive light. We started with me meeting my husband while on a date with another man…and me making my husband drive to the ER with a broken wrist…in a truck…with no shocks. Did I mention that I’m a nurse? Yep..don’t marry one if you want any compassion.  We spend it all at work and have very little left when we get home.

What evenings like this always do for me though, is allow me to see into our friend’s lives in awe and also remind me of our past as well. Our new friends, Debbie and Dean, had three beautiful daughters that provided me a glimpse of a life completely opposite of what we had with three sons. Still crazy, I’m sure…but different. What we have ascertained as differences:Parenting by Genderhttps-%2F%2Fmotheringmarriageandmenopause.wordpress.com%2F.png

1 – Girls apparently don’t try to burn the house down as often.  We had one son leave the toaster oven on in an attempt to start a fire and then one leave a candle burning in a full on house-fire success. I’m not sure if it was a competition but the second son got the prize in this one. Our toaster oven son earned some pretty good life points, however, for grabbing the hose and saving the house.

2 – Girls don’t have house parties that result in a bathroom renovation. I’m still trying to figure out exactly how the hole appeared in our shower but have heard it involved one drunk male in the bathtub. We decided all teenagers need babysitters, at that point, when parent are away visiting sick relatives.

3 – Girls don’t slam the new shower door with so much force that they make the shower door break into a thousand pieces. Nor do the bandage their 50 cuts and just go to basketball practice and leave enough blood in the hallway to make their mother think that she should be looking for body parts.

4 – Girls don’t end up in the principles office for scaring people in the bathroom by hanging on the ceiling,  lying in the street and pretending to be hit by cars, or for terrorizing the new teacher and helping her decide to go into another profession.

5 – Girls don’t stage fake gang fights during a 12-year-olds birthday party that prompt neighbors to call the police in fear.  They don’t put their mothers in a situation to have to explain to another parent why Jr may be traumatized by being frisked by the police while in your care.

What we have established is the same however…is that we all loved every minute of it. I watched our new friends beam with pride at their daughters, the way that Eric and I look at our sons…in spite of some of the adventures that we never wanted but wouldn’t have as many great stories without. I’ve also realized that we’re still not done. More stories will come…preferably not as many that result in a need for a contractor but all the same…the memories are what makes life worth it. Please share your favorite story that always comes out when you meet new people.  I would love to hear it!

Posted by:Sheri Saretsky

I spent ten years as a single parent of three boys. I then married my wonderful husband and he was inducted into the world of boy raising. Now we get to add my peri-menopause to the mix! Its been a crazy life...one I wouldn't change a minute of....

2 replies on “Parenting by Gender

Leave a Reply

