Mother’s Day Memories

I read a post on Shallow Reflections that sent a flood of memories of my own mother. She passed away 17 years ago and I still remember so many amazing things about her.

I don’t believe my mother ever slept. She stayed up to all hours of the night making craftsBalloon string egg. She sewed dolls, painted ceramics, made fabric photo albums and every Easter, would make these large string balloon eggs filled with little gifts. Little did she know that she could make something that enough people would be unsuccessful at that it would generate its own Pinterest Fails page.

My mother played the guitar, accordion, piano, organ and harmonica. She sang in a beautiful soprano voice.  My sister and I sang “One Day at a Time” at her memorial service.  We grew up with Mom singing that song along with so many other hymns.

20170514_080734
My mother, step-father and the first four of us.

She was always a part of the music worship service in any church she belonged to. She and my grandmother would play the organ and piano for the Southern Baptist church I grew up in.

My mother was an amazing cook and only knew how to cook for a large family. She was a southern cook – so lots of butter, sugar and everything with gravy (It’s amazing we didn’t have heart attacks by the time were twelve.)  We grew up with a very eclectic menu, however. Won-tons, Tacos, and Chicken Adobo were added to our overall meat and potatoes diet. She made a huge assortment of treats including Peanut Butter pie, Mile-high Strawberry Pie and Church Windows (chocolate with colored marshmallows inside.) Sweet tea was always in the refrigerator and I think at times, actually fermented with the large amounts of sugar involved.

20170514_082440
My mother with my younger brother.

My mother loved giving gifts. We learned as adults to never look at anything for more than 10 seconds unless you wanted to go home with it. She was also a gracious gift receiver – you could give her a rock, and she would fawn over it like it was a diamond ring.  It made buying her gifts extremely easy and very rewarding!

My mother was a hard worker. No matter where she worked, she would always work as if she owned the company rather than was ‘just’ a secretary. She taught us that hard work is nothing to be scared of – it’s how you become the last one let go in a crisis!

Family was everything. My mother came to San Diego for secretarial school. She graduated, got a job and then sent to have my grandparents come out from Kentucky. Her bond with my grandparents was always evident. I miss them just as much as I miss her. They were another set of parents when we were young and forgave us even when we were self-centered teenagers. I once dropped my grandfather at the store and told him I’d be right back after I got gas.

20170514_080934
My ever forgiving grandfather before I was driving!

I immediately forgot that he was with me and literally drove right past him on the way home. My mothers concerned question of  “Where’s Grandpa?” sent me flying back to him. His response?  “Honey, I tried to jump in but you were going so fast!”

My mother never truly realized how special she was. She always seemed to think that she was ‘not good enough’, or ‘not talented’.  She would make comments that we were so much more talented than she was in spite of so many things showing the opposite. My mother had to finish my seventh-grade sewing project for me – it was becoming a half-shirt about 20 years before those were in style!  She had this beautiful soprano – I am an alto singing backup.  I tried learning how to play an instrument only to find that I have two left hands. What she did make me feel, however, is that none of that mattered – I was Ok the way I was. I wish I could have helped her feel the same.

So…Mom…in case I did not tell you enough, you were an amazing mother. I miss you and love you and always will.

What do you remember most about your mother?

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Memories

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out today Sheri. It warms my heart to think that reminiscing about my mother’s superior potato cooking skills prompted you to write this lovely tribute to your mother. What a talented mother she was! She does remind me of my mother, too, as Mum cooked a lot more than potatoes, could sew anything including clothes, dolls, and intricate doll clothes. She also loved music. She had always longed to learn to play the piano and she knew one song, ‘There’s no place like home.” She made sure I had piano lessons and it turns out though my mother did not have a singing voice I inherited a soprano voice from someone in the family and was able to develop that talent while Mum was still alive and sing to her. My grandparents were also very important to me growing up and I spent a lot of time with them on both sides of the family. Though I never left my grandfather at a gas station. LOL!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Molly – I don’t think I truly appreciated my mother while I had her. She ended up having multiple strokes towards the end of her life and became aphasic. It was so sad to see her not be able to sing at the end of her life. Thank you again, for spurring on my memories by sharing about your mother. They both were very wonderful ladies!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful way to honor your mother and the memories you hold and treasure most dear. Thank you for sharing them with us.

    My mother is and always will be the perfect woman in my eyes. I’ve told her over and over again that I want to be just like her. She thinks she has failed us in some many ways of our childhood. Little does she know and even after telling her so – Mom is my wonder woman, supermom and a hero all in one…the woman I want to be, that loving, kind, gentle person my children see when they are with their mammaw.

    Thank you – Sheri

    Like

Leave a Reply

