If you have read my earlier blogs, you know I hurt my back by blowing my nose a few months ago. Apparently, it happens…especially when you are over fifty and have chronic nasal congestion. While I’ve enjoyed the time with my Physical Therapist, stopping my exercise in the morning has been detrimental to my hips…belly…arms…psyche. I’ve tried working wp-image-1099664487out at home to little success. Apparently I am really good at buying exercise equipment…just not good at actually using it. I have quite an inventory: Punching bag (inspired by my six visits to a kick boxing gym), a TRX and Bosu ball (inspired by my current Boot Camp), a very large exercise ball (not inspired by anyone…I think I stole it from work).  Scattered around a very large Barbell Rack are various bands, weights, and kettle bells – all in near pristine condition.

The Barbell Rack is actually bolted to the floor. This is how you know that your spouse is a keeper – he didn’t bat an eye. I think he figured it was a good way to cover the visual reminder of how our son almost burned the house down (Yep, it happened…read here) and ensured that none of our boys had a room available if they wanted to move back in.  I have workout videos, diet books galore (high protein, low fat, no fat, low carb, personality, spiritually based…you name it…I bought at 2am while eating ice cream). So…the important lesson I have learned through my frenzy of buying equipment, videos and books to help me lose weight…listen closely – this is a big one…NONE OF IT WORKS IF YOU DON’T USE IT!  Yep..ground shattering, I know.  And so unfair…truly…because if I were better at finances and less good at shopping, I could have paid someone to just surgically put everything back in it’s place…although after looking at the botched plastic surgery on the web, the shopping seems safer.

I am now fifteen pounds heavier, and much more winded, after taking three months off for PT. Mind you, no one told me to not exercise AT ALL…but I’m a creature of habit. It takes 21 days to create one, and apparently 21 minutes for me to lose one. I started back at boot camp this week and was almost giddy on the drive there. It was very familiar and while I can’t count the number of places that my body is sore right now, I feel better – still fat – but better.  The boot camp is women’s only (other than our trainer, Jake Glaze) and the group is extremely supportive of each other. One of the women is in her 70’s and can definitely out-plank me, and most likely out-lift me also. Everyone goes at their pace and no one batted an eye when I moaned and groaned my way through the week. It works for me….while home workouts do not. So I’m back at it with high hopes that I’ll avoid more shopping to buy bigger clothes. I want to buy smaller clothes…and different ones then those already too small with price tags on them – since apparently I’m also delusional about what size I am at 2am.

I will never be thin, and there are changes that have happened to my body that I can’t take back, but I still know that I can get stronger, and less likely to succumb to my genetics. My family history is plagued with a history of strokes and heart attacks. My 512mnw5cRFL._SX522_workout room is fully stocked so I’ll stop jumping on the next new and improved gadget to help me lose weight.  As I’m taking inventory, however…anyone need a yoga swing?

Happy Mothers Day!

Posted by:Sheri Saretsky

I spent ten years as a single parent of three boys. I then married my wonderful husband and he was inducted into the world of boy raising. Now we get to add my peri-menopause to the mix! Its been a crazy life...one I wouldn't change a minute of....

One thought on “My Home Gym Shopping Habit

  1. I’m glad you are back at boot camp, Sheri, because it sounds like this is where you thrive. I, on the other hand, do not like going to the gym, although I’m forever grateful I attended regularly at one point in my life since I met my husband there. I love your declaration that it takes 21 minutes to break a habit (a good one, that is). That’s about right!

    Like

Leave a Reply

