Dr. Seuss has always been one of my favorite authors.  He had a crazy way of bringing words to life in his amazing artwork and rhymes.  In celebration of his birthday on March 2nd, and to bring some encouragement to my battle-scarred co-workers, I sent out my own Dr. Seuss-esk poems after a very long week.   Hope you enjoy!

seuss-quotes-9

To the  Management Team….

Oh, the places you’ll go
Oh the things that you’ll do
When another disaster hits
In the classroom or “loo”
When the ceiling starts raining
Or the toilet overflows
When the hallway is leaking
and all around you are woes
When the toilet paper is empty
And the towel dispenser hangs
When all around you is irritation
And the teachers grow fangs
Yet you shake off the anger
Because beneath it you know
Everyone’s stressed and on fire
And feeling sadly and low
So you look all around you
And survey this place
That you’ve spent years enjoying
And jump back in the race
Because regardless of what happens
Up above in a room
Back here on the campus
We will pick up the broom
We’ll make drinks out of lemons
and continue to seek
to respect one another
in spite of a long week
Beneath all the anger
And the desire for more wine
We truly want the campus
To continue to shine
So just a quick note
To say you’re hero’s each one
And I’d want no one else beside me
To enjoy all this fun
How you work is amazing
In spite of the lack
And you each keep me going
When my head gets off track
So thank you for your devotion
And showing up every day
It keeps me remembering
In the end…it will all be Ok.

 

And Round #2!
so we look to the front
and forget what was behind
our vision looks forward
so that peace we can find
in our daily activities
that may change day to day
but we won’t let frustration
always get in the way
The students are waiting
for some guidance and cheer
as they follow the dreams
that have led them to here
We hold a key to their yearning
and take a role in their lives
that help them to be become
better parents, friends, wives
Education is power
Education took me
from a mother on welfare
to be all I could be
it supported my children
it bought me a home
it changed my life forever
I didn’t do it alone
I relied on those before me
that worked paving the way
for me to fight through the battles
that plagued me each day
there were those that advised me
and showed the when and the how
to provide me the steps
to get to where I am now
So again to my coworkers
my friends…all our team
let’s work through the problems
let’s continue to dream
and take hold of what brought us
to the pride that we’ve shared
seeing the graduates walk
on the stage ’cause we cared
its the base of our motivation
its what pushed us to stay
when we thought “this is crazy
there’s too much in a day!”
so once again…you keep me going
when the race gets to long
I look over at you running
and know where I belong

 

Posted by:Sheri Saretsky

I spent ten years as a single parent of three boys. I then married my wonderful husband and he was inducted into the world of boy raising. Now we get to add my peri-menopause to the mix! Its been a crazy life...one I wouldn't change a minute of....

One thought on “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

Leave a Reply

