It’s official – a day without exercise is a day that I wonder if my pants will still fit.  I can see how adding exercise to the daily routine can be stressful.  I seem to be more stressed when I don’t exercise so I need to either keep up the routine or get a prescription for Ativan.  I was out of town for two days last week and had promised myself that I would hit the gym in the hotel.  When I went to St. Louis a few months ago, I was religious about hitting the gym at 5am.  Two days in LA, and three full length mirrors in my hotel room (Three…seriously….THREE!!!!)..and I couldn’t bring myself to walk through the hotel in my workout clothes.  Argh!  Regression in my confidence!  No worries, however…I’ll be back to it Monday and back to feeling good about my progress.

Ahhh…but on to the fun part!  What I learned at boot camp over the past few weeks.  My favorite new Jakism?  “There’s no crying in exercise!”  Really?  You obviously weren’t standing next to me during the last ab rotation!  There was crying…moaning…and sounds that sounded like several women were in labor!   Or maybe that was just me…

We use the resistance bands daily.  They come in different colors to signify their resistance.  Yellow – Red – Blue – Purple with Purple being the most resistant.  I broke a yellow one doing arm raises recently – which means nothing.  Until you break a blue or purple – you have no street credit.  Last week I went from the blue bands to the purple bands for bicep curls- upping my game. Until of course…Jake upped his.  No longer 15 reps..lets go to 20.  I settled for doing some shade of teal with a combination of blue and purple.

This is similar to moving up from the five pound weights to the eight pounds.  I’d like to be at the tens after another boot camp – a decision I will most likely regret on the next Ab round.  After three C-sections, my abs are definitely my weakest area.  (On a side note, if you are going to have multiple C-sections, you may want to ask your OB to trace a straight line in front of you.  From seeing my scars, that skill must be harder than it looks.)  I know that they will not get stronger until I spend some serious focused time there.  I also know that as a peri-menopausal woman, my abdomen loves to hold on to adipose tissue.  I know all these things…and would still rather work out my arms!  Or butt…or thighs…or that little muscle in my foot….intellect doesn’t always meet common sense.  I’m proof.

There are soooo many ways to do wall sits- hold five pound sand bags and do arm circles. Heft a kettle bell over head.  Hold a medicine ball between the knees.  I’m waiting for all of those to be joined together in some type of juggling routine while holding one foot in the air.  And trust me…some of these women could do it!

So, as you can see…I’m still hooked.  I’ve heard that after doing something for over 21 days, it becomes a habit.  Again…not working out scares the heck out of me.  I never…ever….ever…want to go back to that first week again.  However…if you are reading this and have not been exercising and want to start?  Let me just say…the first week is totally worth it!   If you need help getting off the couch, give me a call.  I know thirty women and one guy that will welcome you in!  Have a great week, all!

 

Posted by:Sheri Saretsky

I spent ten years as a single parent of three boys. I then married my wonderful husband and he was inducted into the world of boy raising. Now we get to add my peri-menopause to the mix! Its been a crazy life...one I wouldn't change a minute of....

Leave a Reply

