I just finished my second round of boot camp.  10 weeks in – 16 pounds down.  My favorite moment so far was at work – having a younger woman tell me that she was admiring my arms.  Having anyone admire your arms when you’re over 50 is a confidence booster.  She started with “I don’t want you to think I’m weird or anything…”.    My response?   “No judgement …and how does my butt look?”

We learned a new exercise last week.  Single leg hip lifts with a twist – hold you weight on your hip while you lift.  It all went well until my abdomen starting eating the weights.  There is obviously some work still to do there!  I was fortunately able to dig them out before we started the next exercise.

And yet another exercise with the TRX – Hip drops.  Hold the handle on your head – while you face sideways.   The inside leg in front – now drop your hip.  You can guess how that went for me….grab the strap…no…only one… put your hand this way..no…the other way…now put it on your head – no…not like that…on your head…you only have one head…put it there….now drop your hip.   I’m assuming that Jake is medicated with some calming agent before he teaches me a new exercise.   Either that, or he highly medicates when he goes home.

Someone asked me the other day how the running was going.  I still sound like a dying asthmatic when I run, but no one seems to mind.  I’m still painfully slow.  Occasionally, the ball of my right foot gets inflamed and a bit painful.  I still don’t love it.  What I do love?  The results.    I’ll keep running now because stopping is downright frightening.  I know how I feel when I exercise and I know how I feel when I don’t.  I’ll keep exercising.  It feels better.13754255_10210114519009137_7002428098177607371_n

My other favorite thing right now?  I’m not in a race.  As long as I’m feeling good and slowly heading in the right direction, I’m ecstatic.  If I make a bad food choice one day, I move on the next.  No more flogging myself…no more setting dates or events that I’m losing weight for…no more feeling like a failure if I can’t fit into something.  I’ll get there – wherever there is.  I’m 30 pounds heavier than my wedding weight.  I’m OK with that right now.  10 weeks ago, I was 46 pounds heavier than my wedding weight….and that was closer to 50 pounds heavier than I ever want to be again.

I still love the comradery.  I still love that it’s not a competition unless you want it to be.  I still love that even the incredibly fit women will still comment that it’s hard some days.   I love that I see women of all ages working out, talking about their lives and encouraging each other with “wow…you look great!”.   It is very different from any experience that I’ve had in a traditional gym where I was surrounded by very fit naked women in the locker room.  It’s bad enough comparing your body to other women in yoga pants.  Take the clothes away and you can really start to question your attractiveness as a woman!  Fortunately, my husband’s vision is much like mine – in soft focus.  It covers up a wealth of stretch marks!

So….I have a standing date with 20 women and one guy every morning at 5:30 am.  Even on mornings when it’s hard to get up, I still push myself out the door.  If I have to be at work early, then I leave early, but I still go.  It feels foreign to not have at least one body part feel tight and sore.  If I start to falter, please take me back to this post: Disco Anyone?  It is enough to keep me on the straight and narrow!

Have a great week, everyone!

 

Posted by:Sheri Saretsky

I spent ten years as a single parent of three boys. I then married my wonderful husband and he was inducted into the world of boy raising. Now we get to add my peri-menopause to the mix! Its been a crazy life...one I wouldn't change a minute of....

Leave a Reply

